As if getting in a car accident was not stressful enough, having the at-fault party leave the scene only adds to the frustration and challenges that come with the aftermath of a major collision. If you are involved in a hit-and-run accident, you may still be able to get recourse in the event that local authorities are able to locate the at-fault party. If the at-fault party is located, you will also have several options to consider as you plan your next steps legally.
According to a recent news report, a man was charged after fleeing the scene of a deadly motorcycle accident. Based on initial reports, a Honda was traveling north when it crossed into southbound lanes and crashed into the motorcycle. The motorcyclist was thrown from their bike and pronounced dead on the scene. Following the accident, the driver of the Honda fled from the scene on foot and was located by local authorities shortly after. The police report noted that the driver of the Honda made no attempt to render aid to the motorcyclist. The initial investigation also showed that the Honda driver had an open 12 ounce can of beer in his vehicle’s center console and an empty box of beer in the backseat. The Honda driver has since been charged with vehicular homicide, driver intoxication, and leaving the scene of a fatal accident. The accident remains under investigation.
What Are Maryland’s Hit-And-Run Laws?
Hit-and-run accidents occur when a driver crashes into another vehicle, pedestrian, or stationary object, and then flees the scene. Among the various laws that govern this type of car accident, Maryland law requires that the at-fault party stop and stay on the scene of any accident resulting in injuries, deaths, or damaged property or vehicles that cannot be immediately moved. In addition, the state transportation code states that for at-fault parties, leaving the scene resulting in serious bodily injury constitutes a felony punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. If the accident results in a death, then a hit-and-run has a maximum penalty of ten years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Even for hit-and-run accident victims, you are not permitted to leave the scene under Maryland law unless you require immediate medical assistance. Under Maryland law, you are required to stay on the scene and call 911, provide your identification and contact information to others involved, and to help anyone who needs assistance following the accident.
Even if the at-fault party of your Maryland hit-and-run accident is located, however, this does not automatically entitle you to compensation. Instead, to receive damages, you must separately file a civil lawsuit, or personal injury claim, against them. Because the at-fault party fled the scene and negligently failed to provide aid to the injured and their personal information, it is likely that your claim will be successful. The ultimate success of your personal injury lawsuit and the associated damages, however, is context-dependent and hinges on the circumstances leading up to the accident taking place.
Do You Need a Maryland Personal Injury Lawyer?
If you or someone you know was recently injured or killed in a Maryland motorcycle accident, contact the lawyers at Lebowitz & Mzhen today. Our lawyers have years of experience fighting for the injured and will provide you with the care you deserve. To schedule an initial consultation today, contact us at 800-654-1949.